The world's best minds:
Research & Affiliate Network



We’re creating meaningful connections between top thinkers and practitioners in AI and machine learning through ATB’s Research & Affiliate Network. The network has one purpose: amplify current and future minds (and work) being undertaken in Alberta within AI and machine learning.

Led by Dr. Randy Goebel, the Research & Affiliate Network provides aspirational vision and guidance to strengthen the AI and machine learning ecosystem in Alberta. The Network will help elevate Alberta’s talent and expertise on a national and global scale.


Meet the network of talented individuals supporting Alberta’s AI and machine learning ecosystem:


Dr. Randy Goebel

Head of Research & Affiliate Network | PhD. Professor of Computing Science, Associate VP (Research), Associate VP (Academic), University of Alberta | Founding Principle Investigator, Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute (AMII)

Dr. Geoffrey Rockwell

Professor of Philosophy and Humanities Computing | Director, Kule Institute for Advanced Study | AI, People & Society Co-Chair

Dr. Chris Frei

Associate Professor of Mathematical Finance, University of Alberta | Mathematics, Quantitative Finance and Risk Management

Dr. Omid Ardakanian

Assistant Professor of Computing Science, University of Alberta | Big Data, Systems and Networking

Dr. Hamzeh Khazaei

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Alberta | Software Engineering & Intelligent Systems

Dustin Morrill

PhD Student of Computing Science, University of Alberta | Safe Artificial Intelligence and Algorithmic Game Theory

Joshua Mitra

Graduate Student of Mathematical Finance, University of Alberta

Bohdan Horak

Graduate Student of Mathematical Finance, University of Alberta

Salim Teja

President, Venture Services, MaRS Discovery District

Patrick Lor

Managing Director, Panache Ventures

Maya Medeiros

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright

Brent Barron

Director, Public Policy at CIFAR (the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research)

Sue McGill

SVP & Head of Innovation, ATB

Mervin Van Der Spuy

SVP & Head of Data, ATB

Rebecca Finlay

Vice President, Engagement & Public Policy | CIFAR